Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis are suppositional fantasy novels that promote Christian ideals.

Our curriculum developers selected these books because they felt that they are age-appropriate for Challenge A students, are considered to be classics by educators and publishers, and reinforce Christian values and virtues.

The Chronicles of Narnia book series spans the creation of Narnia in The Magician’s Nephew to its final destruction in The Last Battle, which some consider to be an allegorical or suppositional reference to the Bible. However, the stories can still be enjoyed without the biblical references. <

Following are some the ways that these books reinforce the Christian worldview with scriptural references:

The Magician's Nephew -- tells the how Narnia was created and how evil entered that land. Genesis 1
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrob -- closely references Crucifixion and Resurrection
(Aslan the lion, which represents Jesus, is ridiculed before he was killed and then his body disappeared from where his body was originally laid.)
Matthew 27-28
Mark 15-16
Luke 23-24
John 19-21


Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us